Of Passion and Art

Time-tested and proven true, passion is what we people dream and live for. Men and women alike have been pretty much ideal in their ways. There is no person without a dream. We are all born dreamers. We all have a vision of how life goes and ends, of how it can all be made possible. Proof of this is through art, whatever medium of art it may be. I’ll name a classic and you can say who made it – and even the other way around. How? It’s through their hardwork and strong desire to achieve something good – something bigger than them.

I myself believe in such things. Though I’m only in the process of actualization and enlightenment of such proposition, I can say it does make me feel alive. I’ll cut the chase and tell you what I’ve acquired in highschool and in my first semester in college across the globe.

Doing too much is one thing I can’t really eradicate from my system. I’m such a perfectionist that I end up overdoing the piece. It looks good but it doesn’t always look exceptional. Being a procrastinator also becomes a hurdle whenever I’m being such a high-nosed artist. Life doesn’t have to be too hectic. It doesn’t even have to be too empty either. Art imitates life in this way. Everything has to be in moderation or else everything would seem like a joke.

Want something? Go get it. The things we want all come with a price – like having to stay up late, run all the way from the screening gate to the gym just to take pictures of simultaneous events, leaving home for my future’s sake and all that jazz. If you want something, make sure you do want it for all the right reasons and go for them. You know you’ll face a challenge so be prepared enough to bring water, a camera, your crush’s picture and some candy when the going gets tough. I know I did.

Sometimes the requirements for a certain project aren’t as likable as we all are. It’s pretty freaking ugly – like making a program out of nothing, computing for the binary representation of something while making an educated guess whether drugs should be legalized or not – all at the same time, being persuaded to draw and paint and take pictures and document every single day of my life. I don’t like them all but I have to. I complained and I still am ranting about all of the unreasonable activities I have to do. What’s the prize for all of this? Art. Art doesn’t necessitate a brush and a canvas, nor a camera. It is everywhere you look. You just have to see the beautiful side of the scene. It’s the art of learning how to look at life positively – that’s how I got through.

One last thing. If you’re happy or depressed or just plain bored, get a camera or grab a pen and some paper. Take a peep and you’ll learn how to look at things in a different perspective. It’s a good stress reliever too.

What do you think? This is too much for that talk, huh? šŸ™‚ I should probably translate this in spanish or tagalog or make a powerpoint. That way, it would all be too old school. I’m beginning to get bored by my style. It’s too plain and generic and erratic. Ugh. I hate it – or do I?

Good night šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

