Ubuntu.

New OS. MS Windows XP screwed up. Still no sound on my Toshiba M500, Intel ICH7 piece of —. Tis unbelievable how I’ve spent days on trying to fix it, and still not find any good solution. It sucks. I need a better sound card.

Help.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lorenzo E. Danielsson
    Mar 02, 2008 @ 14:28:58

    It seems others have had problems as well:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=656006

    I am sure you have looked at this already, but just in case it proves helpful:
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HdaIntelSoundHowto

    In general, it seems that the Ubuntu Forums (http://ubuntuforums.org) are a good place to get help. I don’t use Ubuntu myself (although I did for a while). I use Debian and FreeBSD.

    Keep in mind that Linux still requires more tinkering from time to time than some other OSes. Things are changing, though. On the good side, under Linux when things don’t work you can usually fix it, unlike those other operating systems.

    Reply

  2. trish
    Mar 03, 2008 @ 00:25:03

    Thank you for that. Yes, I followed the Hda Intel Sound How To but it still doesn’t work. Maybe I messed up somewhere along the way. I’ve probably followed a couple more threads trying to solve this…but it’s still silent. Maybe I’ll try to redo it this weekend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

