00001

When I was in grade school, maybe 2nd or 3rd grade, I had this clear backpack. It was made of clear plastic with a baby pink bottom and pink straps. I loved that bag because I can show off whatever’s in it. I believe my grandma gave it to me. I’m not sure if she bought it off those Avon Magazines. But it was a nice clear backpack.

For some reason, I was seated at the very back row in the classroom, and we had to go down to the podium to gather for some event. I remember the library was having their book sale, and I saved up all my money for that day.

After the event, I went back upstairs and found my bag open, wallet empty. It initially contained around P300 to P400 (around $6-$8) worth of hard earned savings, and now invisible or probably in someone else’s pocket. Most of the back row and some other seats had their bags opened. Other classrooms also had the same pattern of where the bad people took the money. At that time, I was thinking that it’s such a loss, but I’d be able to get it back. I can’t remember if I cried, but it sure made me borrow more books from the library instead of buy them from the book sale.

That amount had more value than it would have today, but I guess it was just not meant to stay in my hands. Nevertheless, I tried to forget about it, till today. There’s probably a reason why, of all days, today’s the day my brain chose to remember such a memory.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeong
    Apr 29, 2009 @ 14:08:55

    Ah to be so innocent back then. That’s a pretty awesome backpack. Sorry you didn’t get to buy your books. You can buy em now. šŸ˜‰ I had such a weird dream the other nite and you were in it and rest of the sps ppl.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

